I Solemnly Affirm vs. In The Name of God

The swearing-in ceremony had an interesting sidelight. A handful of ministers decided to take the “I solemnly affirm” route instead of the popular “in the name of God” route.

Of the 19 Ministers who were sworn in, a dozen followed the Prime Minister in taking the oath of office and secrecy in the ‘name of God’ while Sharad Pawar, A.K. Antony, P. Chidambaram, Sushil Kumar Shinde, M. Veerappa Moily, S. Jaipal Reddy and C.P. Joshi opted to “solemnly affirm.”

While, all DMK ministers solemnly affirmed as well, which isn’t a surprise – because it has been an atheist party.

The interesting part was Sharad Pawar. Pawar has probably been an atheist for all his life. But just before he began his campaign for Prime Ministership these elections, he made it a point to visit Shirdi. But given the results for the NCP and his ambitions, no wonder he went back to solemnly affirming. 

But then a few ministers taking this unusual route is happy news for me. It is certainly better than having a completely Ram-bharose sarkaar.

Posted by Manish on May 30, 2009 in In Deshwa


There are no comments yet...

Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment